Free Online Microsoft Training

Free tips and tricks for using Microsoft 365 and Windows

Free Online Microsoft Training

How to save a message in Microsoft Teams

Today I want to show you how you can use the Save this message function in Microsoft Teams to allow you to quickly locate, or go back to, specific messages or posts from any Teams channels. Think of it like being able to bookmark a message that you can come back to at any point in the future.

Back in late 2022, Microsoft released a completely new Microsoft Teams desktop app, so naturally I installed it to check out the improvements. I quickly noticed that this very useful feature was missing from the new app and was quite disappointed. However, about a few months ago Microsoft made my day with a Teams update which added this great feature back into the new Teams app and now I want to make sure you know about it.

How to save a message

This feature is available in both Teams online and the Teams desktop app.

Now that you know what the feature does, let’s see how to save an actual message.

  1. Open the Microsoft Teams.
  2. Open a Team and select a Channel.
  3. Locate a message (officially referred to as a Post) that you’d like to save for later.
  4. Hover your cursor over the message so the Reaction toolbar appears and click the ellipsis (…) button:
  1. From the menu choose Save this message:
  1. A purple icon will appear to let you know the message has been saved.

Note: Others will not see that you have saved the message.

  1. Repeat this process to save any additional messages.

How to view saved messages

Now that you’ve saved a message(s), you’ll want to be able to access those saved messages.

  1. From the top of the Team/Channel area, select the Saved option:
  1. A list of any saved messages will now appear:
  1. Select the saved message from the list.
  2. The full message will appear on the right side of the window.
  1. If you want to view the message within the Team/channel, click the Go to channel button in the top right corner.

To unsave a message

If you no longer want/need a message to appear in the Saved message list, you can easily unsave the message.

  1. Open the Saved message list.
  2. Hover over the message in the list.
  3. Click the ellipsis (…) button in the top right corner.
  4. Choose Unsave this message:
  1. The message will be removed from the Saved list.

I hope this has provided you with a useful tip when using Microsoft Teams. I’m very happy this very useful feature is back in Teams and available again. Be sure to check out my other Teams posts or comment below any questions.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seventeen − 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Newsletter